Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

#PledgeBlipfoto (Wild)

I'm approaching my "official" seven year anniversary here on on Blipfoto - though in real terms I started exactly seven years ago today: my OH bought me my DSLR to encourage my growing interest in photography and wild spaces, and Blip was just the community I needed to help it flourish. Whilst many of my daily blips are captured on the Ayephone one days often too busy to breathe, the "real" ones are the ones taken on walks through forests and by the sea. Photography is what connects me to my wild self - the self that lives amongst the trees.

Others can explain what Blip means to them far more eloquently than I - it is one of the many joys of this special place that there are so many thoughtful and fluent Blippers, But as I reflect on my years here, I know that it is an online community like no other - one that has encouraged my creativity, let me push some boundaries as far as experimenting with my photography and also given me a daily discipline to engage with the right hemishphere of my brain. I've been so inspired by others - both by their photographic eye (trained and untrained) and their stories - and have felt such connectedness with so many.

It's kind of the promise that was made when online communities were invented, but so rarely materialised. Yes I can continue to take and post photo's if Blip goes, but it won't be the same or I doubt as special.

The past is past. I'm with Elsa on this - let it go. But the future - the future where Blip is run by the community - now that's something worth committing to. I'm excited about joining with so many incredible Blippers around the world to build on what we have - which is something wonderful - to make it something even more powerful at a human level. 

I'm in x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.