Blipfuture

Before I joined Blipfoto, I had met and admired people who managed to take a photograph every single day.  I joined this group to see if I could do the same.  It is now over 3 years that I have been posting a daily photograph.

It hasn't always been easy, and I'm not necessarily proud of all the images, but it has been a lot of fun.  It has made me take a camera everywhere with me, and I have undoubtedly taken many good and pleasing photographs that I would otherwise have missed.  I have exchanged comments with other blippers from all walks of life (and met some of them in person) and from many countries, as indicated in this image (and I know there are blippers from many other countries as well).

Most of all, it has built up a wonderful reminder of people, places and events that have filled those three+ years and I get a great deal of pleasure from browsing back through my journal.

By now the whole Blipfoto community should be aware that the site is under threat of closure.  It needs funding to be able to buy the site from the current owners and give it a new lease of life, and is trying to raise money through a crowdfunding exercise.  If you enjoy Blipfoto (as a participant or even just as an occasional viewer) and want to see it continue, please consider pledging whatever sum you feel comfortable parting with.  Details can be found at https://www.blipfuture.com. You have to "register to invest" to get the full details, but that does not commit you to anything.

I have pledged and am about to increase my pledge.  It would be very sad if this community was to die.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.