Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Northern Cardinal ~ male

At this time of year the birds aren't singing, per se. But they do make their *chip calls* to communicate various things to each other. Cardinals have a particularly sharp metallic chip call and I am choosing today to think this Cardinal is saying "BLIP!" rather than "CHIP!"

I've been blipping for a bit over a year now, closing in on Blip #500. I've been taking pictures somewhat obsessively for the past five years or so - but until I found Blipfoto and decided to try to commit to a photo a day my photography wasn't particularly thoughtful. Before I found Blipfoto I mostly took thousands of photos of birds at my house, in an attempt to get some actual *good* ones. I did in fact take a photo, or two, or a hundred almost every day, but not as any kind of a challenge particularly. What Blipfoto provided for me initially was simply a framework - a place to put a photo, one each day, with a few words to go with it. And then I discovered the community. And the various challenges. I am typically a person who resists being given an assignment , but I have discovered that some of the challenges (Abstract Thursday being the most notable) have really given me a way to actually grow, and learn new skills, and that I'm better for trying something that scares me. I have found that I want to take pictures of all sorts of different things instead of just birds; and that I am learning more and more to truly see.

But the most important thing, the thing I really do NOT want to lose, is the community. The conversations. The friends I've made. No one is ever negative; everyone is always supportive. I hope each and every one of us will find it in our hearts to give as much as we can afford in order to make sure Blipfuture becomes a reality. If Blipfoto means anything to you, please go make a pledge if you haven't already.


Edit - I just read this - you should too!! It explains some things...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.