West Sands, St Andrews

4.5C with a frosty start. Calm morning, with some bright spells. Light breeze later.

Happy New Year !

Since it was calm and fairly clear to start the day and with heavy rain forecast for the next three days, Apothecary7 and I decided that this would be the day to go through to St Andrews if we were going to go through at all over this holiday period.

When we arrived it was cold and still and as is usual on these holidays lots of people were walking along the West Sands. We followed suit and Maeve the Deerhound got her belated birthday treat of a walk along the beach to the Eden Estuary and back. There were lots of people and lots of dogs, but the beach is so huge that there is plenty of space for everyone to enjoy a walk or a run or even to have a canter on the horses we saw down by the edge of the water.

When we came back along to the town end of the beach we carried on walking up into town and wandered along past the University buildings to the Cathedral and then back along Market Street. I have never seen the town streets so quiet. I'm sure it will be very different tomorrow when the shops are open again and the sales are in full swing.

We came back home in time for a late lunch.

#PledgeBlipfoto
I have added "Blip" to a corner of the image to join with everyone who will do the same today in the hope that Blipfoto will be saved from closure and carry on as a community owned company. That hope depends on the crowfunding venture Blipfuture raising enough to buy and keep the site running for the foreseeable future until a return to a subscription based stability.

I have been posting pictures to the site for over three years now and at the same time recording a brief daily diary as I have gone along. Posting a photo every day, and looking for one or more photos as I walk with Maeve the Deerhound and Apothecary7 (when she is not working) has become part of what I do. Perhaps part of what I am. I would like that to continue.

I see images every day from all over the world and gain tiny insights into other places other cultures and other lives, and perhaps some people like to see the tiny corner of the world where I live and how I see it and perhaps one or two like to virtually come with us on our holidays and hear how Maeve the Deerhound is getting along.

Through this daily interaction I have communicated with people, met people, walked with people, shared food with people, been invited to their homes, and have had the pleasure of hosting in our home too. I have absolutely no doubt that I am better for having shared this experience.

This is a good thing.
This is a creative thing.
This is above all a worthwhile thing.
This is a thing worth saving and sharing. I hope Blipfoto will continue to be here.

My Blipfoto Journal is called The Way of Colour, by Beachcomber 149.
My name is Norman Mowatt.
I live in Carnoustie, Scotland.
... and I wish you all a very Happy, Peaceful, and Safe New Year.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/640 sec. ISO-80 5mm (35mm focal length 24mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.