Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Blip

Reflecting on the change that Blipfoto has brought about for me since I was adopted into the family, and it feels very much a family, only three months ago, to lose it would to me be as big a loss as Ilford would have been, now certainly bigger. There, a small dedicated team prevented the disappearance of a giant in photography, especially for those of us who favour monochrome images and prints on paper.
But it's continuance depended on continuing support from a much larger community.
So it is with blipfoto. A small dedicated team has put together the possibility of saving it. Now it just needs support from the blipfoto community, albeit in a different way.
Is it worth saving? Unequivocally yes.
The blipfoto community is unique. I had blogs for my interest in photography for a number of years with several times the number of followers that I have dared to try to attract on blipfoto. With rare exceptions, counted on one hand, the instant friendly support seen on blipfoto was nothing like so evident. Nor on the several photographic forums in which I have taken part.
That is the most important thing I would be very saddened to lose. In fact, now my photography would be lost without it.
The daily task of seeking a blip brings about a different way of viewing the world, not just from a point of view of imagery - a better way of viewing the world. Not only a better way, but an increased awareness on the world around.
And while excellent technique is appreciated by the blipping community, there is room for what would have been seen at one time as 'snapshotters', the foundation of popular photography in the past. So, eg, I have no embarrassment to post a snapshot of little or no technical merit but which reflects an important aspect of my life on that day, and so much appreciate the windows on their lives opened by other blippers.
My blip today has little technical merit, I am still feeling very much under the weather so abandoned more grandiose ideas, but I thought it very important to respond to 'blipfuture's' call and put the word 'blip' in a picture.
It will probably be tomorrow before I feel able to attempt catching up on the past few days and browsing all the incredible blips this call has no doubt brought about. But I will get to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.