Journey Through Time

By Sue

Cute Little Bird

Happy New Year everyone.  I don't know whether to be joyful for a new year and all good things that will happen, or scared by what is ahead for this crazy world.  I'm happy for my son and his new relationship with a young lady.  They seem so perfect for one another. I look forward to see what will happen with them.  I am looking forward to getting some things done around the house.  This computer/office room needs to be spring cleaned, that's for sure.  I have decided to sell some things on e-bay or locally and clean out some stuff.  As usual, losing weight and gaining control over my sugar addiction always comes to the fore front at this time of year.  I have a project or two with my genealogy.  One is for Al, the newly found cousin and one is for his sister, who  I visited with yesterday.  So, those I'm looking forward to.  Oh, and I have to get my camera fixed as I broke the plastic protective piece on the back of the camera.  That's on my to do list.  

I'm not looking forward to this election year and all the crap, ugliness, political nonsense  political ads that will be on TV.  I'd like to go live on an island in Fiji until the dust settles.  Barring that, I guess I'll just turn off the TV or hit the mute button.  

I envy this cute little bushtit, who knows not of the world and it's troubles, and just enjoys it's life in the here and now;  feeding, flying, snuggling with his flock when it's cold and generally bringing me joy when I see them.  

And that's as deep as I'm going to get today, the very first day of 2016.  I always loved January when I was in school and had to write out the date, because I loved the way the word January just flows across the page in lovely letters, with a pretty J to begin it and a lovely Y to end it.  It's a visually pretty word. I still love to write it out, but that's so seldom anymore.  Do you suppose handwriting will disappear one day?  I hope not.  I do wish I had prettier handwriting.  I wrote out a couple of Christmas card envelopes and looked at the writing and I thought...wow, does my handwriting look THAT bad!  I need to practice I think.

Sorry...I am babbling.   Take care sweet things and have a wonderful weekend in the brand new year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.