Leiflife

By Leiflife

Happy New Years, Blipfuture

I've been taking a break, mostly because the pain in my hip and leg are aggravated by sitting for any length of time. My body seems to crave the gentle exercises I am doing...or the reclining position. But here I am, because I, too, believe it is very important to show solidarity and enthusiasm for the future of blip. It is truly like nothing I have ever known in the way of online community. I haven't been here long, and I don't post daily, but I have come to know and care about people I have never met. I have enjoyed and learned from the photography of others, and been shown glimpses of their lives. I visit countries virtually that I will probably never visit actually. I truly am grateful for the privilege, and thankful to my good friend, Kendall, for bringing me into the blip community so generously. As for donating... I have made the effort to, but have found that in this country one has to have a debit card. So I have ordered one from my bank and await its arrival. I believe in the future of Blip.

I created my blip photograph out of cornbread, cabbage and blackeyed peas. It is a tradition in the U.S., but especially in the South to eat blackeyed peas and cabbage on New Years Day. The peas are for luck, the cabbage for prosperity. The cornbread is simply a delicious accompaniment to the peas and cabbage. I cook the peas with onion, celery, red peppers and a clove of garlic, flavored with salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, coriander, cumin and a few dashes of hot pepper sauce. I saute the vegetables before adding peas and water. When they are almost done I float a generous quantity of cilantro on top. They are served over rice. I steam the cabbage and add butter, plain yogurt and salt. I like a little butter and honey on my cornbread. 

I think maybe Blipfuture could use a little luck and prosperity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.