Do It!: Keep Blip Alive!!

The printing on the side of the "B" says: "Connecting People With Nature And…"  I didn't notice that when I first made the stencil, but it sure is part of the blip message for me. Connecting. I've been posting here for five years, and Blip is indeed about connection. When I started on January 1, 2011, I was looking for a place to learn more about photography, something simpler and more intimate than, say, Flicker. For a year I had kept a very private journal on blogspot; I told a few people, but it was mainly just for me. Then I heard of blip in a post by Photoshop guru Tim Grey--a site just for photographers! Truth: at first I was disappointed that their wasn't more critiquing going on, since I was doing this to improve my skills. But soon something else took over: I found myself following a few journals, looking forward to entries, randomly browsing through images that resonated with me. I became part of a community. I don't comment much, I don't have many followers, but I would miss checking in with my imaginary friends, and sharing their stories and images, movie reviews, book recommendations, art projects, knitting tips--the list is long. I've also met some of these folks in person through Blipmeets, and my life is richer for that as well. 

Here's what founder Joe Tree had to say when he began the original Blipfoto:

I expected to get bored quickly, but surprised myself by becoming completely hooked. It got under my skin, and I found myself walking around looking at the world in a completely different way.

So I kept doing it.

There you go. I cast my vote for BlipFuture. 



Hipstamatic: Lowy lens, Uchitel 20 film

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.