Speed

I've always gone as fast as I can. When I was a kid, I was a runner. Trying to run away from Nowhere - which was where I grew up. Actually, I didn't even live in Nowhere, we lived in the suburbs outside of Nowhere.
As I grew up, it was all about Speed. How fast could I make money? How fast could I move on?
And the other day, I was near Nowhere so I took a detour through the old neighbourhood. There were kids like me - like I used to be and like I might have been if I hadn't got out from under. And I thought "How far have I really come with all my running?" And you know what the answer was? After twenty years, I was in exactly the same place as I had started from.
But I was in £5,000 of Armani and £150,000 of Aston Fucking Martin. If I was in the same place as the people who stayed behind, it was only because I was lapping them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.