atoll

By atoll

Drove Me Chevy to the Privy

Lovely little road trip outbound on the Woodhead Pass over the Derbyshire moors (here on Streetview) to Sheffield, and then back home along the more southern Snake Pass that runs along Ladybower reservoir (here on Streetview) this afternoon. Been moving daughter J's college gear from First Year Halls to Second Year Diggs. Thought it might have been a 'coming down to earth' or culture shock of having to slum it from now on, but as ever she was up for it with a big smile.

This is a quick picture taken in her shared back garden. I got her to try and guess what she thought these three structures were (she is living in one of a terrace of three houses) but she had no idea - bless. "A shed?" she asked, more out of hope than anything.

I explained to her about the luxury of the pre-war Outdoor Privy and the chamber pot under the bed. I think my dad still had one at his parents house until just before he married my mum in the early '50s.

I don't think it really sunk in with J, but she did happily agree to pose for today's Blip.

Just realised there is a whiff of a suggestion of shared 'subject matter' with yesterday's Sooper Dooper Pooper Scooper Blip.

Postscript: Apologies, but to avoid artistic confusion with my 'Skip' related Blip series - that is To My Lou (#1) and To My Lou #2 , I have had to take an editorial decision and make a late revision to the title of this inaugural entry to a new 'Loo' related Blip series - with apologies to Don McLean. Another alternative title had been 'Welcome to the Thunderbox' - named loosly after after the Frankie Goes to Hollywood classic take on Coleridge's Kubla Khan.

I also explored the Thomas Crapper connection thinking that he was the first inventer of the flushing toilet, only to find out from St.Wiki that this was in fact the Indus civilisation in the cities of Harappa and Mohenjo-daro of the 4th and 5th century BC (Before Closet) Punjab. Interesting this, as I funnily enough, have only recently finished writing an article about the urban design origins of Lahore & Chandigarh, and which referenced these two specific ancient ruins - as downloadable here if at all interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.