Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

The watchmaker's watch

This is the next in the series 'my favourite objects.' It is also two for the price of one. The first is the brass magnifying stand that dates to the late 19th century. It is made of finely turned brass and is both a functional and a pleasing object. The second is the watch.
Years ago when I had a small antiques business, lots of interesting items came through the door for purchase. I always thought I should not keep any of these for personal use as, starting a new business, that is not the best way to make it profitable! I regret now having parted with one or two items, including a marvellous leather bound quarto History of West Africa with lots of accompanying illustrations.
The watch was offered to me and I bought it. This time I decided to keep it. It is an Omega Speedmaster Professional without the word 'Professional' on the dial. The Speedmaster Professional was the so called 'moon' watch worn on the Apollo moon landings. This rare 'pre moon' watch was issued by NASA and tested by Ed White on the earlier missions and on a space walk. I like it because of its history, because it is well made reliable and accurate but also because it is understated. It does not 'shout' at you. It is a watchmaker's watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.