mef13

By mef13

Shopping break

Off to the shops today so that our 12-year-old grandson could spend his Christmas money.
It's some little while since I last visited a store like ToysRUs devoted entirely to goods designed to entertain the younger generation.
Well, I found it mind boggling! A far cry from the time I was Eddie's age. There was one toy shop in the little town in which I was brought up, and perhaps on special treats for a day out, it was a bus or train ride to the nearest big city, just seven miles away, where I would make a point of a visit to Woolworths. That was my introduction to toys we could buy in shops, and that's only if and when I was lucky.
So today's visit to this warehouse-like shopping giant was an eye-opener even to me.
If I was still Eddie's age I wouldn't know where to even begin looking for something I fancied. With so many choices I rather think my wish list would change by the minute as we moved from one aisle to the next, one shelf crammed with toys to the next.
I did stop at the shelf where there were some rather fine models of exotic cars and more like collectors' pieces than toys.
Perhaps I did make an audible wistful sigh when the shop assistant nearby did say "You know, you're never too old to treat yourself!"
Aaah well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.