Becky's Kitchen Window

My Christmas break is drawing to a close. We've done so much, visited everybody, relaxed, and had some fun. One of the things we also try to do over the holidays is catch up with friends.

And on this day, we got to do just that. We visited friends who (conveniently) live just about 15 minutes from where we do, to share some good food and watch Penn State's bowl game.

The Nittany Lions didn't win it on this day, though the team and the back-up quarterback put on a respectable showing and kept us on the edge of our seats. But the food was good, and we managed to have some fun despite their loss.

I had made my famous potato salad the day before, and so that was my contribution. In some ways, it was like a summer cookout. Casual dining at its best. Burgers and dogs on the grill with all the trimmings, plus a variety of side salads.

The real story of the day, though, at least for me, was Becky's holiday decorating. She always does a fantastic job, with sparkling lights and red bows and pretty festive touches everywhere, and I am happy to admire it.

On this visit, I actually had my camera with me, and I asked her permission to photograph some of the lovely decorations in their home. She seemed quite flattered and pleased by my request. So here is the view out Becky's kitchen window.

It seems to me that life is often what you make of it. What a thing is in and of itself is often less important than how you see it. And even an already lovely woodsy view out a window can be made better by a pretty frame.

The soundtrack: John Hiatt and the Goners, with Window on the World.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.