St Bride's Bird

or the Oystercatcher, if you prefer. It is a very common bird around these parts, and a very noisy one too! This one and its mate must have had a nest down at the base of the cliff, because they were creating a hell of a commotion when Ollie, Lucas and I walked along the cliff top.

A weird day - thick haar again this morning, so again no mail plane, but yesterday's post had come up by road, so Mike was as busy as ever, but up on the cliffs, it was positively warm and the sun was doing its best to sneak through the cloud/fog/mist.

After lunch I decided to dig some holes in the back garden "lawn" to sink some of the big flag stones to make a better path up the garden. I should have realised from the size of the stones that it was not going to be easy, but having started I had to do it! I have a bit of a terrier temperament, and don't like to give up! By the time I had finished, 4pm, the sun had burnt through and it was roasting! Had to divest myself of several layers and pour myself a long drink to recuperate! But I am very pleased with the result, and if I ache tomorrow, I shall at least have something to show for it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.