Bom

By Bom

Tiny Duckling

A dull and dreary day today, so after a walk I thought it take a photo of something around the house for the Tiny Tuesday challenge, thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting.  I hope this little Royal Crown Derby duckling paperweight 'fits the bill', well, compared to the real thing it's tiny!!!  I have a collection of these paperweights and I love the detail in the patterns, I think they're beautiful.

I also did a longer walk plus lunch yesterday with three friends, which, and I'll say it quietly, means that I think my foot is at last beginning to improve after 11 months of not being able to go for the long walks I used to.  

We chatted about lots of things, but the one thing that stirred the most conversation was New Year's Resolutions.  My friend M mentioned that she'd heard of one person who, instead of making resolutions, picked one word which she wanted to focus on during the year.  So we all picked a word and mine is 'declutter'.  By this I don't mean having less stuff out around the house particularly, but to remove from the house any practical things that I don't use or need - I have a habit of keeping things 'just in case'  I think I've probably got over 20 mugs in the cupboard for example.  I've also got lots of books that I've never read and am unlikely to read, but I keep them in case I get time one day.  So hopefully lots of things to give to charity shops!

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful."

William Morris
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.