Smoke Trails

It's ages since I did one of these smoke trails, so long, in fact, that I did not remember the technique correctly as I should have had a snood on my flashgun to direct the light solely on the smoke and not touching the background. I had to compensate by cleaning up the background. 

I did not realise at first but it is the first time I have tried to use flash with my Canon D6 even though I had it for a year or more. I was ferreting around looking for the flash button when I realised there was no internal flash hence no flash button. So I had to consult the manual to see how to use external flash with the D6. Unfortunately Canon do not print a manual now for their cameras and you have to refer to the digital version which fortunately I have transferred to my iPad. 

Still I expect it only confirms the lesson that you have to keep on blipping otherwise you forget techniques and the features of your camera. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.