A picture of health

I’ve been to the vets today.  I go to the vets every January to have my annual checkup.  I like it at the vets.  Everyone makes loads of fuss of me and sometimes I get treats but I didn’t get any today.


My favourite vet is Jonathon so Ann asked if I could see him.  Collie’s are his favourite dog.  Or perhaps he tells all his clients that their breed of dog is his favourite??!!  He listened to my heart, he looked in my ears, he looked at my teeth, he weighed me, he asked Ann loads of questions about me, and then he stuck a big needle in me.  And do you know what?.................. I was ever so brave; I didn’t even flinch but Ann had to look away at that part!

 

Jonathon said that I was a picture of health. Yay!

 

The only problem I have is……………… I’m starting to get cataracts in my eyes, but as I’m over 80 in human years I suppose that’s only to be expected.  Ann also thinks that I’m going a little bit deaf.  The other day the postie came to our house and put three letters through our letter box and I didn’t even wake up.  That would never have happened when I was younger.  Normally if I see a postie I go absolutely ballistic and do my most ferocious barking.

 

However on the way home I had to sit in the car and listen to Ann ranting.  Why is it that us doggies go for an annual health check every year and humans don’t?  Ann doesn’t even know the name of her doctor, she can’t remember the last time she stepped foot inside the doctors surgery and she certainly wouldn’t know who her favourite doctor at the practice is.  Which I suppose in one way is good because she’s never, ever ill, but, on the other hand, prevention is better than cure.  Does it all come down to funding? 

 
Getting old is no fun for anyone.  And every time Ann takes me to the vets; it just brings it home to her; how old I am and how old she is. 

 

So what do you think Blippers…………………. Do you think humans should have an annual health MOT too, or should it just be us gorgeous little collies that get checked over once a year?????

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.