Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Backyard Photo bombing (Yard Bird # 3 - HOFI)

Alternate Title:  Titmouse Bokeh

We awoke to 7 degrees F (-14 C) this morning ... can everyone say "BRRRRR"!  But, as is usually the case, the cold weather brought lots of birds to the yard, so I waited until the temp was up to 10, bundled up and hunkered down on the deck to wait... If you do any kind of wildlife/nature photography, you know that waiting is really the key to getting interesting shots.  

I was rewarded with 17 species of birds, including a small group of very elusive cedar waxwings.  No amount of waiting would get them to come down from the tree tops, so no pictures.  Ditto the robins.  But the titmice were determined to put on a show and before the day was over, I think they'd managed to photobomb just about everyone in the Bistro.  So while I contemplated blipping a brown-headed cowbird since I don't often see them in the yard... I kept coming back to this shot of a lovely male House Finch, being photo bombed by a very enthusiastic Tufted Titmouse.   Two other shots from today that I liked...
Male red-bellied woodpecker
and
Very cold blue jay, hiding his legs

In my yard-bird challenge, I'm counting this one as a House Finch - there will plenty of opportunities to get a good shot of a titmouse before I'm done.  As you can plainly see, they love the camera...

Thanks for the lovely comments on yesterday's MonoMonday photo - Phoebe says it's no more than she deserves, but I say thank you very much!


In spite of the very cold weather, Hubs and I managed a short (1 mile) walk today - amazing we could walk given how many layers of clothes, scarves, hats, gloves, etc we had on...  A far cry from a year ago...  I believe the weather should be a little warmer tomorrow - around 32 so maybe we can get out for a longer walk.  

Good evening, good people...

Debbi

I would also like to add that if you are not fully up to speed on the efforts to save our beloved Blipfoto, please read the latest post which explains everything thoroughly and succinctly.  And, PLEASE, consider pledging/donating if you have not already done so.  Click HERE for Blipfuture/Invest

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.