SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Corridors

.... of the mind. Less evocative than windmills but then it has been an institutional kind of day which always leaves me a bit baffled about what happens between one end of the corridor and the other - the point of delivery and the commissioning. I think that the problem lies in the rooms on the way down which are populated by bean counters and suddenly you find yourself morphing into a place that looks like home sweet home for Kafka.
Luckily I came out of my corner in good fighting spirit today.

Corridors are also good for traumatic memories and I always have to fend that off somewhat. I quite like this corridor, it's short enough with a few nice pictures. Preston Infirmary, from memory, could do with a lot of work, I just remember miles and miles of soullessness with no resting places and having to follow signs for 'Nuclear Medicine' .... I really think, they ought to re-market that little gem. The RVI in Newcastle had a cunning plan of having so many miles to get under your belt that if you survived that far you might be in with a shout. I'm quietly fond of Carlisle, oddly but then it doesn't really do corridors as such.

Still, rambling aside ....
more 'extraordinary' things done today and more spreading of the blip word here and there ... 936 isn't a lot ... I'm beginning to consider standing outside a supermarket shaking a tin ....

More rambling along a different corridor of the flooded kind ... I gather our politicians managed to attend a meeting on the wrong side of the collapsed bridge at Pooley yesterday. I gather the excuse was that they wanted to be able to inspect the full extent of the damage. There's me thinking that a collapsed bridge looks much the same from both sides ....

On a more positive note ....hoorah for the chaps on the ground who have got a temporary shuttle system to enable the kids to get to school between Grasmere and Keswick across the flood damaged A591.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.