Rosbif

By Rosbif

Day 15 - I'm Broken

So today went like this. Met Sarah 9am at the St Gervais lift station, in the rain. Head up the mountain to see what it was like, and it was good! So good that we just kept skiing whatever fresh snow we could find, and it just kept getting better. The rain turned to snow at around 1100 meters, by 1800m there was around half a meter. The only thing that spoiled our fun was our burning muscles. My excuse is that telemarking in deep snow is hard and to illustrate the point I crashed frequently. But the buzz I got from the fleeting moments of success kept me going, and there were points where I felt that I was making real progress. Gradually I am skiing in deeper snow, on steeper terrain and started feeling some kind of flow. But as with alpine skiing, that effortless flow you see when skiers are skiing in deep snow is anything but effortless. It’s a thigh burning workout. Another friend, Zoe, joined in around 11 am. This was her first ski of the season, and she was getting fresh tracks straight away. Lucky girl.

I hope hope my legs are up for another session tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.