A time for everything

By turnx3

Photogenic heron!

Wednesday
I had an appointment in Fontainebleau fairly early this morning and afterwards I went walking in the grounds of the chateau. I had seen and photographed some snowdrops and hellebores and was expecting them to be my blip for the day, but then while I was walking along the grand canal I caught sight of some large wings flying and landing through the trees a little way ahead of me. As I drew closer, I discovered it was this heron. I took one shot, then started walking slowly forward, fully expecting him to fly off at any moment, especially when a cyclist came up behind me. Much to my surprise he stayed quite still as I walked up level with him and then past him, allowing me to get about 8 or 9 shots from different angles. As I began to move on, it started to rain a bit, and I was afraid I was going to get caught out as I had no hood or umbrella, but fortunately it didn't come to much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.