Unexpected Departure. Oops!!

30 years ago today I started training as a Flight Attendant - what we sometimes nicknamed 'Stew-school'. I've seen a lot of changes in our industry in those years and have flown quite a number of miles. Maybe one day I'll be bored enough to count them!  

But today was a first for me!  A very close call!  

I was at home nursing a bad headache and feeling unmotivated for anything. At about 11am I saw that I'd had 3 phone calls in the last 2 hours from crew scheduling. I listened to the voicemail and discovered they were calling to notify me of a delay for my flight to DC this afternoon. 

Whaaaat??? I don't have a trip today!  I'm off to DC tomorrow!  What?  I have a trip TODAY??  Really??  Yikes!!  

Thank goodness for that delay!  If the trip had been on time the first call I would have got would have been at check in time, asking me if I was on my way.  That's a call we all dread - discovering (too late) that we got our schedule mixed up.

After rushing into the village to pick up my uniform at the dry cleaners and arranging with Dolly's sitter to pick her up, I threw what I needed in my bags and I was out the door in a flash - thankfully with more than enough time to get to work.

I wasn't expecting to see this Departure sign today!  That was a close call!  Christmas holiday finished - a day early!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.