Curfew

I was going to use "Epiphany" as the title but someone got in before me.

Epiphany is the 12th day of Christmas; dunno about you but Christmas seems to have been ages ago. In some Christian traditions this marks the day on which the wise men arrived and did a wee bit of the "Adoration of the Magi" type action. The main purpose of this was to create a subject which has given artists through the centuries something to paint. This also marks the end of the older, pagan festival of Yule which ran to early January. Saturnalia, the Roman mid-winter celebrations which included feasting and gift-giving was also around about this time.

Anyways, Epiphany is the curfew for Christmas decorations. Tradition has it that they are taken down today or are left up until Shrove Tuesday and pancakes should be cooked on the flames from burning them. Because I am devout I took my decs down ages ago but these little rascals are still in situ - and have been for a few years now. I'm not sure what dread fate is supposed to befall those who leave up their decorations; probably a long weekend in Skegness or something, but I've just added up a further three decorations which stay up all year round so it looks like I'll be doing Skegness a good few times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.