An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Friendship Nightlight...

Today has gone by in such a blur I'm not really sure what happened!

Trying to catch up with lots of stuff that I ignored over the holidays so a chunk of time was spent online organising prescriptions for Alan, servicing of his hoist, looking at a new comfy chair for him, organising a belated Christmas night out for his support team, oh and a visit from the OT to look at new slings for his hoist.  

She brought a Rep with her from a company we've not used before.  The Rep was lovely and Alan liked her a lot (she was pretty! :-) but sadly the style of hoist wasn't any good for Alan so it was a wasted couple of hours.  Just going to order replacement hoists from the company we originally bought them from.  I've been avoiding doing this as unfortunately the company is not the most reliable in the world and their after sales care is non existent but hey ho, needs must.  

Also spent time sending an email to a friend whose husband has Motor Neurone disease.  I never cease to be be moved and amazed at how they are coping with the whole situation but that said, there's no getting away from the awfulness of it all.  It's heartbreaking.

So, after a hectic day, in search of a little peace, I lit my beautiful tealight holder that was a Christmas gift from my friend Louise.  I absolutely love it and its gorgeous colours.  There was a printed card inside it that reads....

  Friendship Nightlight - At the end of their working day the glass blowers would use up all the molten glass by blowing small ornamental gifts to be given as tokens of friendship on special occasions.  This tradition is still carried on today.  Hand made by Craftsmen using recycled glass.


What a lovely idea and it's environmentally friendly  :-))


PS Thank you so much to everyone who commented and left stars and hearts on my Arria blip.  I'm so pleased you liked it because I love her! She even made it onto the popular pages.  Can't remember the last time that happened!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.