Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Bird - # 5

Had to go with the Northern Cardinal today.  This particular gal is a daily visitor to the Bistro and I recognize her because she is quite vibrantly colored compared to the other females who visit.  I was taking some random shots as she perched in some nice light on the cherry tree, when suddenly she fluffed up for several brief seconds.  It always amuses me to see birds puff up like this, making them look like they are wearing fluffy down coats...which I guess they actually are, come to think of it!  I'll put a close up of her face in Extra.

It has been a pretty mundane day in the yard - no cowbirds or hawks today, only  the regular visitors.  My second favorite shot is this Blue Jay with some cardinal bokeh.  

The company that provides our propane (for heating the house) is coming today to service our two furnaces, something we get done yearly.  We are using less propane so far this winter partly because the temps have, until this week, been quite warm and partly because we are using our "heatilator" fireplace to warm the downstairs.  God knows, we have plenty of downed trees back in our woods!  

Thanks for the kind comments yesterday.  While it wasn't a particularly good photo, I'm glad I posted it since I may not see cowbirds again for a while.  Oh, and Phoebe is basking in the glow of having gotten an Honorable Mention in this weeks' MonoMonday challenge!  

Toodles...

Debbi

And, People, don't forget to pledge whatever you can to www.blipfuture.com - the funds are growing every day and I have to think if we continue to pull together, we'll save this great place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.