A Dozen Small Works

Picturing Hanover, Massachusetts in small 4x4inch(10x10cm) oils on canvas for a Hanover Historical Society project. These will be paired with photographs, representative of the areas painted, from our Society's collection of historic photographs.

This took all the energy I could muster for today I think. Gregory gave me a portable light box for Christmas, but we have not set it up as yet, so this is a rather less than perfect effort to fulfill two needs today, blip and the Historical Society.

The paintings are for a proposed project for our Historical Society. We have an Executive Board meeting next week to discuss this and other proposals for the coming year. I may not be attending the meeting, depending on my energy, cough and the weather that evening. The meetings are often long, in a drafty circa 1716 Museum in chairs from about the same period. 

My portion of the project is done, but the completed project would be an exhibit, perhaps called Picturing Hanover in Paintings and Photographs, pairing my small works with selections from our wonderful old photographs of the town. The paintings subjects are broad, lots of water to showcase old mills, local manufacturing, ice harvesting. Photos of stonewalls, farming, wooded areas, a historic bridge or two. We have an extensive collection of photographs shot by Charlie Gleason, a local gentleman who used to travel the town with his wagon filled with dry goods and later on his bicycle which featured in all of his later photographs. We have used grant monies to have many of his photos bound in archival albums. The display would be exhibited at the Stetson House Museum with the possibility perhaps to sell my paintings with a portion going to the Historical Society. All of this must be discussed and if I'm not able to attend the meeting I can send this information to be put on the agenda.

These paintings are the result of a year long exploration of small canvasses. I have never painted on such a small area before and enjoyed it immensely. There were thirteen originally, one was gifted last spring to my dear friend, DDW.


For the Record,
This day came in cloudy with rain on the way.

All hands improving

The extra is a shot of one of the paintings framed.

PayPal donations now accepted! I'm hoping some of my non blip friends might pitch in to help us save our community too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.