pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A Wright & Sons, Aldborough - GREAT SERVICE!

I want to big up my Knights in Shining Armour - or rather mechanic in a red van!

I'll start at the beginning. Such a well planned out day! After another night of strange dreams, I had a bit of a lie in until 6.30. After ensuring Henry was up and out, I walked the dogs, then tidied the kitchen, wrote my shopping list ready for later and got my shopping bags from the garage. I was in the car, with ice all scraped by 8.40, and left for the Dr. My blood test being at 9.10.

I didn't rush. I was wary that there was a bit of ice about. Oh dear...as i entered the village, I hit a bit of that ice, my back wheels swung round, I bumped up the verge with my front wheel, then as I swerved back round, furiously trying to get control, by back wheel bumped harder into the verge. The air was a bit blue!

I came almost to a stop, but once in control my car was still going and I was close to the surgery so I drove that short distance and parked. I was feeling shaken, but not hurt. Cross. Even more cross when I went round to my passenger side to see what damage I'd done. One very flat tyre, and my husband 85 miles away! (I know - but I had my nice red dress on - I just wasn't dressed for changing wheels)

In the surgery they were very kind, asking if I wanted to see the Dr. I didn't. I had my blood test - the nurse insisted on me using her phone, so I rang work. I didn't think I'd be feeling up to the drive to work, even if I got my tyre.

I thought I felt calmer until I rang Jon, but then my emotions overflowed. Deep breathing and a walk around the lovely village, I felt better. I couldn't see a taxi number, and my mum's mobile was not connecting. I was stuck! I walked to the village garage, and at last my day was looking up. The receptionist listened to my woe and after a quick chat with one of her mechanics, she advised that someone would meet me back at my car in half an hour. Relief swept over me, and as I walked back, I enjoyed the walk & took in the beauty of the village green and quaint cottages overlooking it. It really is a lovely village.

The lovely Steve appeared within 20 minutes and sorted my spare wheel. With a smile and no fuss. He ordered a new tyre and I went back later in the day for it to be fitted. They didn't screw me on the price and were so friendly. So normal. I would definitely recommend them! Most importantly I felt like I could trust them. It was very old fashioned - and I think that is what I like about Norfolk. 

We should have moved here years ago!

Mollie & Jon arrived at 3.45 and we've enjoyed the rest of the day together. My shopping plans didn't happen, but there is always tomorrow! 

Watch out for the ice....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.