a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Quickly, before they die!

Flower Friday 08:  Quickly, before they die!

Cathy got given lots of flowers for her birthday earlier this week, so I was (unusually) spoiled for a blip for Biker Bear's Flower Friday challenge this week. The majority of the flowers are cut, and in vases around the house, where they definitely help to counteract the post Christmas melancholia that might otherwise set in.  However, in addition, this year one of Cathy's friends gave her these rather lovely orchids in a pot.

Now, despite the wonders that she works in our garden, Cathy does not consider herself to be any good with pot plants, and we have none in the house.  As a result, she is not that confident that she will be able to keep these orchids going for that long, and was keen for me to blip them while they still look good.

I've taken this with a long exposure and a single downlighter spot, there is a reflector below the plant to provide some uplighting.  I would have liked to take this shot in the daytime and achieved a softer composition, but I was at work during daylight hours, so couldn't.

The weekend is now upon us.  Unfortunately the weather is not looking good here for tomorrow, it is going to rain all day from the look of things.  I've succumbed and bought a lottery ticket each for Cathy and I.  I entirely recognise that there is no logic involved, but it would be fun if we won "the big one", if we did, Blip's future would be secure ;-) We're not holding our breath though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.