Zoology

Made a spontaneous trip to London today, though didn't get there until 12.15pm.

One of the main reasons for my visit was to have a look at the Grant Museum of Zoology. I read about it in an online article a couple of years ago and it's been on my 'to do' list ever since - I finally made it today!

I am so glad I did! What an interesting place, absolutely fascinating! It only really covers one large room, but there is an awful lot to see. It's all dead animals in one state or another - in formaldehyde, skeletons, skulls, etc, with some now-extinct animals included. There is also an exploded human skull, where a skull has been taken apart for research purposes.

This is probably my favourite, a dogfish embryo still in a mermaid's purse. I see many of these washed up on the beach and it's really interesting to see what's inside it.

Afterwards, I went there across to Shoreditch and had a look at the street art there. Some truly beautiful work to be seen.

Headed home after that, so a relatively short trip this time but am glad I made the effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.