My happy place

I was back in the hills today. It felt so good and even though it wasn't a big trip I definitely felt joy in boy, mind and soul.

Further west the wind was supposedly blowing hard. We made the call to keep further east. My mate is doing a guided climbing trip in Mt Cook National Park in a week or so. His pack was heavier than mine so we added rocks to my pack to slow me down :-)

I was up at 5.45 this morning and we started up the track at 8.15. I was home by 2.30 and now I feel rather tired. It wasn't a big day out but after months of restrained activity because I was constantly sick, I'm pleased to discover my other exercise has put me in good stead for my summer mountain plans.

Looking down on Lake Lyndon and towards Arthurs Pass in the height of summer is quite different to the middle of winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.