Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

The Hub

Had thought I'd take a karate photo today, as I intended to take some video for my own review of progress (I'm getting kata to the point there's little I can tell while performing them, that I need to work on - so I need to see myself; hence videos). I thought I'd take some stills at the same time. Thing was, I trained monster-hard (for fun, for once, and only because training alone i wore my Apple Watch to get some idea of the numbers (HR, calories etc) rather than just how I felt; numbers bore out how I felt, with heart rate usually above 170, sometimes above 190, and one time I checked, 212. (That would seem impossible, I know, but back in medical school, during a physiology lab, my classmate lost count of my pulse at 230; I run very high when at extreme exertion levels.) 

The point of all of that being: I was utterly knackered, and completely forgot I was going to take stills. I tried to export some frames from the video, but they were too small and grainy.

So.

Then I remembered it was architecture day for the Pentax Forums 'Single In December' challenge. Ok. The Hub in Springwood, the new Council building, has attracted a fair amount of ire and mocking. But I don't mind it. And it serves very well for the monthly markets, so it's all good, I reckon. 8)

I've put a few photies on Flickr (all, unfortunately, at ISO 400, because I forgot to check it, and I'm not sure the camera managed the exposures very well; on the other B&W I masked some extra exposure onto the sky to blow it all out, as it looked bad half and half. xP ). My choice is this. I was going to go with the colour version, but just at the last moment decided to try a B&W, and I liked this contrasty/heavy one:

Bettr; Flickr.

DA16-45/4;K30.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.