The Tree Where the Sky Kisses the Earth

There is a tree at the quiet intersection where the misty sky kisses the good green earth. I know, for I have seen it. In fact, I have coveted it.

I have watched the tree for years, plotting and scheming to photograph it. But it is at one of those places where there's really nowhere safe to stop a car and park it. But on this day, I did!

The tree stands in a farmer's field along route 45 not far from Pennsylvania Furnace. I had finished up my first work week of the year, and I decided to treat myself by wandering along the back roads on my way home. (Looking for adventure? Want something new to look at? Take a different road!)

Freezing rain was expected later in the evening, but at this point, a tiny drizzle was just starting and the roads were still fine. I wasn't far from home and I knew I could make it.

The conditions and light were quite strange - misty and surreal - and I had this tree in mind as my secret destination from the very moment I took a different turn in the road.

And you know how it is when you do a thing you have wanted to do for very long, and what a sense of happiness and satisfaction it can give you. What magic moments indeed: I watched as the tree stood quietly, and the misty sky came down and kissed the good green earth.

I wanted the song to accompany this image to be about wandering (which is a thing I often do!). And so the soundtrack is The Wanderer, a song that Bono wrote for Johnny Cash. It's one of the few U2 songs where Bono does not sing lead vocals. Intriguingly enough, the working title was "Johnny Cash on the Moon." (!!!!) I'm including two versions: one in which Johnny sings it, and one in which Bono finally sings lead himself, in a tribute to Johnny Cash after his passing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.