Morning Light Through Trees

It was another cold start, but not as chilly as the prior two days. My pathway on this morning took me by the Arboretum to check it out for one of my very first visits in the new year.

The temperature was in the teens F, and everything was peaceful and quiet. There were sparkles on the tall grass, but not much by way of hoar frost. I've gotten spoiled these past few mornings with all of the crystal beauties of cold, cold winter. How does one become addicted to such things? I do not know, but it has clearly happened to me!

You've seen this stand of poplars a few times before. Once, they framed a summer glimpse of my blue heaven. Much of the year they are pretty and green, but in the autumn, they turn a dramatic bright yellow. You can sometimes see these same trees in the background of the lily pond reflection shots I so love to post.

On this particular day, the morning light was a bit more diffuse. And so I wasn't getting any really dark, contrasty shadows. Just some cool, gray tones. In fact, that's why I chose this photo. The orderly rows of trees casting gentle shadows in the hush of morning made me feel quietly happy. They made me think of . . . peace.

The soundtrack: Herman's Hermits, with A Kind of Hush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.