Morning Light Through Trees

Down yonder green valley where streamlets meander
When twilight is fading I pensively rove
Or at the bright noon tide in solitude wander
Amid the dark shades of the lonely ash grove . . .
- lyrics from The Ash Grove, a traditional Welsh folk song


The northeast end of campus is the best place to watch the day begin. I am often there in the very early morning, watching the sky fill up with light. When the light is good, the trees throw long shadows on the grass, and I take lots of pictures.

I posted a very different shot of this same grove of trees in one of my Blips from last summer. The view in that one was of the blue sky through the trees, and I was lying flat on my back when I took it. On this morning, the grass was damp with dew, so I settled for a standing-up shot.

This scene of light through trees reminded me of the folk song about the ash grove. Technically, I'm wrong to use it, as these trees are poplars, not ash trees. However, I liked the idea of it. And so here is the tune: Blackmore's Night, The Ashgrove, from the album Dancer and the Moon. (Yes, that Ritchie Blackmore.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.