Madhatter

By Madhatter

Latest ebay purchase...

Just before Christmas I took a bit of a risk, and bid for some old felt hat bodies which I saw on ebay.... I'd found them purely by chance, as were listed on ebay Italy, in italian, but was fortunate to be working with a Sicilian colleague who translated for me.
The price was reasonable, even with shipping, and when they arrived I was amazed to find out that they weren't wool felt (the most common and cheapest raw material for hat making) but instead fur felt,  which is about 4 times more expensive. i contacted the vendor to say how pleased I was, and they told me they had just bought the stock of a milliners which had closed, so I ordered two more lots, which arrived this week.
They really are beautiful, wonderful quality, and gorgeous colours. I'm just a little apprehensive to start using them!

Oh, and Dorsetb might recognise the storage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.