Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Marcus

I met Marcus at the Fry's Supermarket tonight.  I was at the self-checkout scanning my food and stuff when he was called over by the manager to help me with my bags.  She called him over to me a little prematurely since I had just started the process so we struck up a bit of a conversation.

To some of these young Hispanic kids who help me with my groceries late at night (when I usually shop) I sense they see me as a kind of Abuela. He told me all about school (he is a senior at Sahuarita HS) and his plans to go to Community College to study computers.

Marcus was, as are all of these young people, very respectful and kind.  It is reflected by all of the stickers he has on his name tag. I got a receipt with one of the survey options on it so I will say nice things about him so that he will receive another sticker.  He listened to me all the way to my car, as he was loading it and even as we stood there in the cold under the pole lamp when he was finished - with that wonderful smile the entire time

Same thing goes for the young ladies who work at the Starbucks.Mostly Hispanic youth in Community College or High School aspiring to do bigger and better things with their lives.

It's worth the 20 mile round-trip to shop at this store to be around such wonderful, inspiring kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.