IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

EP Mosaic, Tottenham Court Road Central Line

I may well have blipped this before in the last year or two but never mind...this is one of my favourite mosaics on the London Underground, the work of Eduardo Paolozzi. He became a very well known and celebrated artist but I remember him, through a child's eyes as an impatient and inventive big bear of a man, exciting yet somewhat scary and unpredictable. He was a judo black belt and I remember telling him that I had taken up judo. About ten times my weight, he floored me about three times on the lawn till I was winded and unwilling to continue!He also gave me a microscope and a series of slides - my first glimpse into a micro world.
A whole series of modern mosaics produced by Eduardo - over thirty years old but looking contemporary - adorn the walls of the Central Line station at Tottenham Court Road. These days they are somewhat the worse for wear in parts and sorely in need of restoration but Transport for London appears unaware of their worth in spite of a campaign to get them repaired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.