Western Reef Heron(Egretta gularis)

This beautiful Reef Heron is unusual because it is white and not the usual blue/grey that seems to be more common version we get here in Oman. I think this bird was trying to divert my attention away from 'my' Wadi Kingfisher. A new female has turned up and a territory war has started. The new Kingfisher (see extras) is very much darker and sleeker and I'm afraid there is fighting taking place. Oddly enough the new female introduced herself to me by coming up close and perching on a small root near the new perches, she doesn't seem to want to use the other Kingfishers perches but she definetly wants the fishing rights and alot of whizzing up and down the river and then fighting is taking place. I'm wondering if there is a male Kingfisher around and this territory war is to do with that. I will have to read up about Kingfisher behaviour. I hope it doesn't end in tears! I'll keep you posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.