The rest of forever...

By DrMac

Red Gown Day

What a day!!!

God, that gown made me feel like Einstein!

This is a very reluctant SP, just to to show off the super hero robes...I must admit that I very much enjoyed looking down at the mere mortals in black whilst I ponced about in red!!

Despite being near the front of the queue, we weren't able to get an extra ticket... so Paul made the decision to take a seat in the live screening room and let Mum and Dad sit up front in the Great Hall to see the ceremony in glorious technicolour. The ceremony was wonderful. The musicians were awesome, I was the twelfth up to collect my degree and I loved every second of it. There was so much happiness and pride crammed into the enormous hall, it was really special.

Afterwards we went for a celebratory drink in the School of Education and I was able to introduce my Professor, Tom, to Mum, Dad and Paul. He was a fabulous tutor and I was really glad that he was there to witness the ceremony and share in the celebrations. He said some really lovely things about me to my family...real hair-on-the-back-of-your-neck moments for me.

I was surprised at how sad I felt when it was time to leave...taking off the robes I suddenly felt deflated, like my doctorate super powers were all gone! Just before I took the gown off, the Father of another graduand asked why mine was red and not black. When I told him why he whooped and the whole family were so excited for me, shaking my hand and congratulating me. It was such a lovely moment!

And so...the long drive home followed, via Waitrose to stock up for the next few days. Paul's Mum and Dad arrive tomorrow to share in 25 year wedding celebrations with our neighbours. It's been a lovely day and the rain certainly didn't dampen our spirits. And I now have my certificate to prove my achievements. I'm pretty darn chuffed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.