Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

How it all began

Posted on 10 January 2016

A long time ago in a far-off land in the British Commonwealth state of Trinidad & Tobago...

One day I will fill in the background as to the circumstances which led to this event.

It took place at a Clinic situated at 44 Coblentz Avenue in Port-of-Spain, nowadays the "Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel" and, judging from the photographs, with the same bricks and mortars. Shame I don't any longer remember which room I first blicked the Trinidadian sun as I could consider a nice holiday back to my "Roots".

As those of my age will know there were no "selfie" sticks or even mobile phones back then. In fact, husbands were not allowed in the delivery rooms but had to pace the corridors outside so not even a video of my delivery.

Presiding over the event was a doctor and surgeon named Henry "Joe" Pierre, knighted shortly afterwards in 1957 by Queen Elizabeth II. I suspect the citation doesn't name me specifically. In 1964 he was to remove my adenoids and tonsils. My parents were always in awe of this Afro-Trinidadian legend who I remember as being a man of enormous stature in build and character. Sir Joe born in Trinidad, studied medicine in the UK and after he retired, settled in the UK.

Here a copy of some words written about him after his death in 1984 by a former student of his and now Professor of Medicine in Trinidad.

"Joe" Pierre was a popular legend in his era. He was a general surgeon, obstetrician, orthopaedic surgeon, you name it, and his suave demeanour and bedside manner were admired and craved by all from the highest social level down. In fact, he broke all social barriers and he and his loving wife Marjorie were such perfect hosts.I also recall how people used to boast that they were operated upon by "Sir Henry". I have seen many surgeons abroad and here who have performed, for example, the surgical procedure called a partial gastrectomy, but in the case of Sir Henry I have never witnessed such surgical embroidery and artistry and with such ease and rapidity.

I am one of those who can boast of having been in the hands of this very gifted man.

The birth certificate was actually not issued until 9th September. I sadly don't know any details of the events immediately before or after the birth and how long my father stayed "up" in Port-of Spain before having to make the long, probably 2 hours, bumpy journey back home. Perhaps he returned the following week to do the paperwork. In Trinidad, no one was in a big hurry.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.