Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sunrise at the Feeder

I'm never up early enough for the sunrise but I caught it just rising above the trees and shining into the birdfeeder this morning.  And a gorgeous morning it was, with everything covered in hoarfrost!  It was 6 F (-14 C) and not a cloud in the sky at about 7:30.  I included extras today, none of them very good shots, but I wanted to include them in my journal.  The first is a Red-shafted Northern Flicker and Downy Woodpecker taking turns at the suet (unusual for the Flicker to let the Downy stay).  The other two are Flickers in flight.  I have tried so many times to capture their colorful wings and these are my first successes.  I just wish the light had been better to really show them off!  I'm going to keep trying!

In case you haven't seen the Blip Blog today, click here, it has some great information.  We should hit the 120K mark today, exactly 2/3 of the way to our total!  Now that's impressive, as is the graph shown in the blog!  Let's keep up the good work!  Pledge Here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.