Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

The Great A'Tuin rides again.

Me and the littlest one (Or is that the littlest one and I?) have embarked upon a 'big book' for bedtimes. We had a few to choose from, but she decided upon Terry Pratchett's 'The colour of magic'. 

I think it was the description of a world that rests on the backs of four elephants that stand on the back of a huge turtle swimming through space that sold it for her. And who can blame her?

I've read discworld books long ago, but forgotten how gloriously written they are. A real treat. Although a bit of the language is above the little one's head, she's getting the gist.

For me the difficulty though is while I'm reading the book to her, I have to constantly switch accents from American to English for the two main characters. It's harder than it sounds. Reading Harry Potter for the eldest a few years ago was much easier... you only need posh, cockney and cornish. (And I do a mean Dumbledore ;)

And the other difficulty is I want to keep going back to read the book in my own time... but that's kind of against the rules.

Oh! And 'the luggage'!! Best character in a book ever! Night night all :)

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.