Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Goodnight Starman

I awoke this morning to news of David Bowie's passing, and have struggled with the absurdity of the notion all day. 

I'd been praising his latest work 'Blackstar' to anyone who'd listen for the last couple of months, hailing the inventiveness and creativity of the title track, showing that yet again he was searching out new ways of making music and hunting out new genres to explore, when artists half his age are content to stay forever in safe territory. And then, but two days after it's official release, he's gone, and it's become immediately evident that this album is an artistic work directly referencing his imminent departure, and intended as his farewell. Amazing. A final stroke of genius.


If I sound like a fan, it's because I am. I was introduced to his music when I was in single digit age, by my father, also a professional musician and also a fan. But it wasn't until I was 12 years old when I first truly fell in love with the man and his music, following the release of the Let's Dance album. It's not always rated as his best work, but to me it was utter genius, a gateway Bowie drug, and also my introduction to SRV, who became another idol of mine. Me and my Dad listened to that album back to back everyday for an age and it never got old. And so it began.

So, Goodnight Starman.

Well played sir, and thanks for all the music.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.