In My World

By JoanneInOz

Mono Monday #103 ~ Fancy

"This is Major Tom to Ground Control
I'm stepping through the door,
And I'm floating 
in a most peculiar way.
And the stars look very different today.
For here, 
am I sitting in a tin can,
Far above the world.
Planet Earth is blue 
And there's nothing I can do." ~ David Bowie, Space Oddity.

As a young teenager in the 1970's I received a gift of a folder, with see through plastic sleeves to hold all of my 45 RPM records.

To fancy up a plain white cardboard page at the front of the folder, I cut out photos from teeny-bopper magazines of the day, and glued them together to form a collage.

Up until late this afternoon I hadn't made a decision on what I would be contributing today for the Mono Monday theme "Fancy", then I heard the sad news that David Bowie has passed away.

If you look closely at the face of David Bowie in these photos, (main and extra,) take note of his eyebrows...he has none. And also note the eyebrows of drawn picture of the star-struck girl...her eyebrows are thin, drawn in this way as was the fashion of the day. Fashionable eyebrows were so thin, in fact, that they should be no wider than a hair's width! So myself, along with many impressionable teens of the day, plucked our eyebrows into non existence, thanks to the influence of David Bowie. 

When fashions changed and my eyebrows refused to grow back, I discovered that apparently David Bowie shaved his eyebrows, so they grew back again. Plucked eyebrows don't.

If a teenager could make it from one end of the '70's to the other with little more than missing eyebrows, they could call themselves lucky. Fortunately, I was one of the lucky ones.

Apart from the eyebrow fiasco, I loved David Bowie. His fancy makeup and stage clothes, his music, performances, in fact his complete public persona fascinated me, both then and now.

Many thanks to osuzanna for hosting the MM challenge throughout January. 

David Robert Jones
8 January 1947 ~ 10 January 2016
RIP David Bowie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.