NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

B O W I E

'B O W I E' is what the star shaped elements spell. No other than David Bowie - and designer Jonathan Barnbrook - would go the extra mile to even create his own star shaped typeface on his last Piece of Art 'Blackstar' released only a few days ago on his 69th birthday.

Today we lost a great artist who most certainly inspired my artistic rebellion when I was young. This is me in 1974 playing Bowie songs in a school band having the typical Bowie short hair on top and long in the neck hairstyle.

I would like to dedicate my fav song 'Rock & Roll Suicide' to my hero today!

ROCK 'N' ROLL SUICIDE from Ziggy Stardust


INTRO: C G C G

VERSE 1
C E
Time takes a cigarette, puts it in your mouth
F G Am
You pull on your finger, then another finger, then cigarette
G F G Am
The wall-to-wall is calling, it lingers, then you forget
G F C G
Oh ho ho ho, you're a rock 'n' roll suicide

VERSE 2
C E
You're too old to lose it, too young to choose it
F G Am G
And the clock waits so patiently on your song
F G Am
You walk past the cafe but you don't eat when you've lived too long
G F C G
Oh, no, no, no, you're a rock 'n' roll suicide

VERSE 3
C E
Chev brakes are snarling as you stumble across the road
F G Am G
But the day breaks instead so you hurry home
F G
Don't let the sun blast your shadow
E Am
Don't let the milk-float ride your mind
F D G
They're so natural - religiously unkind

INTERLUDE PT. 1
C
Oh no love! you're not alone
A
You're watching yourself but you're too unfair
C A
You got your head all tangled up but if I can only make you care

INTERLUDE PT.2
Dbm Abm
Oh no love you're not alone
B Ebm
No matter what or who you've been
Bbm Db
No matter when or where you've seen
B Ebm
All the knives seem to lacerate your brain
Bbm Db
I've had my share, I'll help you with the pain


You're not alone


Bb B C Db
Just turn on with me and you're
Bb B C Db
Not alone Let's turn on and be
Bb B C Db
Not alone Gimme your hands cause you're
Bb B C Db
Wonderful Gimme your hands cause you're
Bb B C Db Fm C Gb Db
Wonderful SOLO

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.