Farewell, DB

What a sad day. I got news of the great man's passing just as I headed to the tram in the morning, and took this when I got off.
What can you begin to say about it? The obits are already out there. What remains to be said? Only what really matters; the personal. From the strumming guitar on the opening of Starman, for a decade he was there, with you, through rock and soul and electronica and dance. So many memories and so many places. And now he's gone.

I was lucky enough to see him - only once; after Heathen and Reality, I knew I had to. I got tickets for Berlin in November 2003. And what a cracking gig it was - he was totally in crowd pleasing mode. Opening with Rebel Rebel...  China Girl.. Fame... The Man who Sold the World... Ashes to Ashes.. Changes.. All the Young Dudes.. Heroes. And then the encores.. Sound and Vision, Hang on to Yourself, Suffragette City and finally Ziggy Stardust.

So I strolled out at lunchtime listening to one of the two tracks of his I had on my iPhone. Everyone says 'Hi' from Heathen....
Said you took a big trip
They said you moved away
Happened oh, so quietly
They say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.