Mono Monday : : Fancy

This little pitcher was made by a woman in Berkeley whose name escapes me. Every year before Christmas she would have a sale in the studio behind her house. A flock of people in the know would be waiting when she opened her doors and would swoop in, stake out any open space they could find and begin snatching up plates, bowls, cups, saucers, pitchers and Christmas decorations. No time to ponder the choices…someone would snatch it out from under your nose before you were still trying to decide.

It would seem that most people had lists of services for twelve before they came in…their stashes would grow geometrically while I stood there trying to figure out what to do with my bag. I finally grabbed this small pitcher and fled. I never went back again, but I do think the little pitcher is very fancy…and whimsical

"Everything is rubbish and all rubbish is wonderful…"
-David Bowie 1947-2016
He was brilliant, a shape shifter and a great musician with a well developed sense of irony. I feel that I came of age to his music and it's thread has run through my life until it was cut short yesterday. His larger than life personality and his music will be missed. I think I'll go watch The Man Who Fell to Earth  again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.