The new bbq

Today a woman courier driver staggered into work carrying the box containing my bbq. Clearly it wasn't going home on my bike.

A colleague dropped it off and I spent a happy next while putting it together instead of running. Well I appear to have put it together correctly, there are no bit left over (always disconcerting) and there doesn't appear to to be anything missing.

I'm more of an experiment and see kind of person, but experience has taught me that can have unfortunate consequences. I did my best to follow the instructions, if for no other reason than I'm in charge of training where I work.

There was that ugly moment where the diagram connecting the lighter bit differed wildly from what was in front of me. I popped the wire into the only spot. What could possibly go wrong igniting gas?

I feel very blessed. It's just the right size for my courtyard. It doesn't dominate the space or contract the Roma Garden. My strong hunter gatherer gene is going to love the possibilities it presents.

On Thursday a mate will help me sort a gas bottle, and we'll give it a test run. I'll get him to check the bits to do with ignition and gas first.

Thanks for the years Mr Bowie. You made a difference to my teenage and adult years, and fascinated me with 'Space Oddity' the year I was captivated by space and men landing on the moon. Go well Starman, you'll always be a Hero to me, and the one I'll always dance to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.