Socks

I finished these socks last night. I really like the fancy cuffs and the beautiful hand-dyed yarn by the lovely Innes of Breagha yarns based in Inverkip.

When I met Innes and the other local knitters I thought they were all hard core. They knit socks on lots of tiny wee needles and were so fanatical they even spun their wool! To be honest I thought it was all a bit bonkers and taking it too far really, then I took a class to learn to knit socks...

I discovered a kind of magic that very few people know about, only a knitter or their loved ones will ever experience the joy and magic that is the handmade sock!

Made to measure to fit your foot perfectly they glide on and stay on in the most comfy, comforting and satisfying way. There's no tight band at the top nipping your ankles, no uncomfortable seam across the toes, no bumfling up in the instep of your wellies, just pure sock perfection. This is my 4th pair for me, Carlos has 2, Freya has 2, Marisol, Fiona and Christine have one each and I know plenty of you blipping knitters have beautiful ones of your own and know exactly what I'm talking about.

The only downside to knitting socks is the compulsion and addiction of it. It's impossible not to have a pair on the needles so now I need to go West Kilbride to Old Maiden Aunt and buy some glorious sock yarn in shades of brown to complete Carlos' belated birthday slippers, then I need to get cracking with a pair for Noah as so far he has none, poor boy, doesn't know what he's missing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.