RedDevil

By RedDevil

.... the Magic Dragon(fly) Tiny Tuesday 33

I caught a glimpse of what I think was a small water dragon yesterday, I’ve seen them whilst doing coastal walks, but never on my suburban plot or its surrounds.  
 
So every now and again I’m quietly wandering around the garden with camera in hand looking for that illusive shot of it scurrying around!   Wish me luck!

   
On one of my dragon safaris, I managed to capture this rather colourful and in my mind magical Dragonfly (must be my year of the dragon!).  We normally get the blue/turquoise ones hovering over the pool, but this little mite, rested quite often between flights, so my take for Tiny Tuesday.  


The Dragon-Fly
Life (priest and poet say) is but a dream;
I wish no happier one than to be laid
Beneath a cool syringa’s scented shade,
Or wavy willow, by the running stream,
Brimful of moral, where the dragon-fly
Wanders as careless and content as I.


Thanks for this fancy, insect king,
Of purple crest and filmy wing,
Who with indifference givest up
The water-lily’s golden cup,
To come again and overlook
What I am writing in my book.

Believe me, most who read the line
Will read with hornier eyes than thine;
And yet their souls shall live for ever,
And thine drop dead into the river!
God pardon them, O insect king,
Who fancy so unjust a thing!

by Walter Savage Landor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.